My Top 5 “haven’t-read-yet, but-need-to” books!

This is my first ever list, and I have to say that I thought about putting it in some sort of order, but I failed. So, instead of putting it in some semblance of order, I’ve just made the hard choice of my solid top 5.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear…

I know, I know, I’m not sure how I have managed to miss this one so far, but it is on list so that’s a start right?

This is one of those books that I’m really interested in for its twisted version of history.

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

Jude was seven when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie…

This one has to be on my list, since I devoured the Magisterium Series and I’m currently working my way through the Modern Faerie Tales after inhaling Tithe (Modern Faerie Tales, #1) in ONE sitting. The interesting part of Black’s writing has to be how it’s similar to both Sarah J. Maas and Cassandra Clare’s writing, but with its own modern flair.

La Belle Sauvage (The Book of Dust #1) by Philip Pullman

Malcolm Polstead is the kind of boy who notices everything but is not much noticed himself. And so perhaps it was inevitable that he would become a spy…

This introduction on the cover just sucks me in, and it definitely helps that it links up with Lyra and her uncle.

With my love of all things related to His Dark Material, it’s kind of surprising that I haven’t gotten into this one yet. I guess that just says how many good books there are out there right now.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Since he was five years old, Lazlo Strange, has been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it… until it doesn’t.

Although this book seems similar to Ink and Bone, I think it has such a different premise and I’m really looking forward to it.

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

This image also includes the delicious candle that came in my OwlCrate

I received this one as part of my subscription to OwlCrate (which I highly recommend as far as book crates go) and it combines my love for music, history and fantasy, which is kind of a triple win for me. Additionally it’s written by one of my newly favourite writers: Marie Lu; author of both the Renegades, and Legends series.

Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish–to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she’ll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in 18th century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only until she reaches a marriageable age–her tyrannical father has made that much clear.

Leave a comment